Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Vision Statement: We are committed to ensuring that ALL students are equitably supported in their academic, social-emotional, and college & career development.

    Mission Statement: We provide counseling services that are based on the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) model (www.schoolcounselor.org). In partnership with students, families, staff and community resources, we aim to provide students with a comprehensive support system that facilitates and encourages academic success, social-emotional health, and college & career readiness.

    In an effort to increase communication, the counselors are using Remind and Twitter.
    Remind is a communication tool that helps educators connect instantly with students and parents by sending a quick simple message to any device. Please sign up for Remind Text notifications for important updates from the Counseling Office!

    Class of 2019 - send a text message to 81010 with the message @2019ghsb

    Class of 2020 - send a text message to 81010 with the message @2020ghsb

    Class of 2021 - send a text message to 81010 with the message @2021ghsb

    Class of 2022 - send a text message to 81010 with the message @2022ghsb

    Running Start Students - send a text message to 81010 with the message @ghsrstart


    For more information go to www.remind.com.



    Garfield Counseling is now on Twitter! Our handle is @garfieldcounsel
    Click here to follow us!

    About Us:

    Room: 104 Phone: 206-252-2304
    Hours: Mon,Tues,Thur, Fri- 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
                                   Wed- 8:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
    Fax:     206-252-2271


    Garfield's 2018-2019 Counselors:
    Assignments by Grade and Last Name

    A - J 10th-12th Grades Daniel Lee,
    Head Counselor ​
    206-252-2365 dwlee@seattleschools.org            
    K - Z 10th-12th Grades
    Chelsey Thomas
    206-252-2377 cathomas1@seattleschools.org
    Running Start
    Ray Willis
    206-252-2367 rewillis@seattleschools.org
    HCC 10th-12th Grades
    Ken Courtney 206-252-2366
    kcourtney@seattleschools.org
    9th Grade Kandace Alston 206-252-2280 kalston@seattleschools.org


    Counseling Support Staff:

    Counseling Secretary

    Traci Ikegami

    206-252-2304

    tlikegami@seattleschools.org

    Registrar

    Missy Chow

    206-252-2364

    mlchow@seattleschools.org

    School Psychologist

    Justin Young

    206-252-2285

    jmyoung@seattleschools.org

    College and Career Center

    Tiffany Bigham

    206-252-2444

    tlbigham@seattleschools.org

    Truancy Intervention Specialist

    Porcia Beard

    206.252.2285

    pdbeard1@seattleschools.org

    Academic Intervention Specialist

    Erik Burnett

    206.252.2362

    erburnett@seattleschools.org

    Academic Intervention Specialist

    Grishma Singh

    206.252.2270

    grsingh@seattleschools.org