Main navigation

Resources

School Counseling

Garfield High School Counseling

Vision Statement: We are committed to ensuring that ALL students are equitably supported in their academic, social-emotional, and college & career development.

Mission Statement: We provide counseling services that are based on the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) model. In partnership with students, families, staff and community resources, we aim to provide students with a comprehensive support system that facilitates and encourages academic success, social-emotional health, and college & career readiness.

Garfield 2021-2022 Counselors

To make a counseling appointment, please e-mail your assigned counselor.

Kandace Alston
Head Counselor, All 9th Grade
kalston@seattleschools.org

Daniel Lee
A – Ko (Last Name), 10th/11th/12th
dwlee@seattleschools.org

Ken Courtney
Kp-Z (Last Name), 10th/11th/12th
kcourtney@seattleschools.org

Ray Willis
Running Start (11th/12th)
504 (All grades)
English Language Learners (All grades)
rewillis@seattleschools.org

Counseling Support Staff

Traci Ikegami
Counseling Secretary
tlikegami@seattleschools.org
206-252-2304

Melissa Chow
Registrar
mlchow@seattleschools.org

Tiffany Bigham
College and Career
tlbigham@seattleschools.org

Justin Young
School Psychologist
jmyoung@seattleschools.org

Porcia Beard
Truancy Specialist
pdbeard1@seattleschools.org

Erik Burnett
Academic Intervention Specialist
erburnett@seattleschools.org

James Rees
Academic Intervention Specialist
jerees@seattleschools.org

Eseosa Orhuozee
Tier 2 Care Coordinator – Coordinated School Health Services
eeorhuozee@seattleschools.org

Counseling Resources

The main services that DSHS provides are food, cash, and medical. More information on services provided can be found on their website.

If students, parents, families or staff have any questions about what they may qualify for, resources they need help with or general where to go for help, please call 1-877-501-2233, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday-Friday, or visit the Washington Connection website.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 is a Federal civil rights law that is designed to help students who have a mental or physical impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities. Please contact your school counselor to discuss the appropriateness of a 504.

Learn more about Section 504 on the district website

  • Teen Link – 1-866-TEENLINK 866-833-6546 or 206-461-4922. Teen Link is an anonymous confidential teen help line that is answered every evening by professionally trained youth. Teens are trained to talk with their peers about a wide variety of concerns, as well as refer callers to specialized agencies that can further address their needs.
  • Where to Turn for Teens – This booklet provides a wide variety of services to youth ranging from housing and food to counseling around mental health issues, teen parenting, substance abuse and LGBTQ issues.
  • 2-1-1 Community Information Line – 211 or 206-461-3200
  • Crisis Clinic – Children’s Crisis Outreach Response Team – 206-461-3222 The Crisis Clinic is a 24 hour phone in help line. They are prepared to deal with all types of issues.
  • Child Protective (CPS) or Family Reconciliation Services (FRS) – 800-609-8764 This one phone number can be used to report child abuse or to request assistance for a family that is struggling with family issues.