Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Jack Waterman

Waterman, Jack

Teacher-High School

jnwaterman1@seattleschools.org
Anna Waxham Blackwell

Waxham Blackwell, Anna

Instructional Assistant

arwaxhamblac@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Hola! Soy una asistente bilingüe aqui en Seattle World School. Trabajo con todos nuestros estudiantes, con un enfoque especial en los estudiantes hispanohablantes. Hello, I am a bilingual instructional assistant here at Seattle World School. I work with all of our students, but have a special focus on Spanish-speaking students.  

Anita West

West, Anita

Fine Art

atwest@seattleschools.org

Biography

I am an artist and educator with a B.A. in Painting and Masters Degrees in International Education and Art Education. A Seattle native, I taught art internationally and have been teaching at Garfield since 2014.

,Personal Message

Art and joy go together. ~James McNeill Whistler

Raymond Willis

Willis, Raymond

Counselor-High School

rewillis@seattleschools.org

Woelfel, Kevin

Certificated Substitute

kcwoelfel@seattleschools.org
Joshua Woods

Woods, Joshua

Certificated Substitute

jtwoods@seattleschools.org
Frederick Wright

Wright, Frederick

School Security Specialist

flwright@seattleschools.org
Daniel Young

Young, Daniel

Teacher-High School

dhyoung@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Hey Bulldogs! A little about me... Garfield is actually my alma mater. I graduated from Garfield in 2001, then headed off to college, graduating from Stanford University in 2005 with a BA in History and a Minor in Geology. After college, I wanted to learn more about the world firsthand, so I backpacked through Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and South America, learning new languages, studying different cultures, and doing a variety of volunteer work. When it was eventually time to "salmon" and return to the home waters of the Pacific Northwest, I got a job working at the Seattle Country Day School in Queen Anne. Working with young people in an innovative, holistic, student-centered environment sparked my interest in and passion for education. I returned to Stanford to earn my teaching credential and MA in Education in 2008, then landed a job teaching history at a large public high school in the Bay Area. In 2014, I returned to Seattle and began working for Seattle Public Schools. This is my fourth year teaching at Garfield, and I absolutely love the energy, diversity, excellence, and tradition at this school.

This year I am teaching all AP US History classes, and I am serving as Department Chair for the Social Studies department. I also advise and host several clubs in my room, including ACLU, Civil Discourse, and the "Blade" Club.

You can find me in Room 224 before school (I’m almost always here by 7:30am or so), and I'm available on some days after school by appointment. Please stop by to ask questions, get help in class, chat, or just say hi.

The best way to get in touch with me is by email: dhyoung@seattleschools.org .

 

Elizabeth Young

Young, Elizabeth

Teacher-High School

eayoung@seattleschools.org
Justin Young

Young, Justin

Psychologist

jmyoung@seattleschools.org
Timothy Zimmermann

Zimmermann, Timothy

Teacher-High School

tjzimmermann@seattleschools.org